Saturday, August 27, 2005

Paintball Mayhem

We went and played paintball at Paintball Petes today for Liam's birthday.

There was a group of 10 of us that went, and we were put with another group to form a team. the "no-bands" team. Because the other team had masking tape bands around there arms and we didn't - it didn't really make much difference in the game cause you could tell which team somone was on by the direction they were running (generally).

The first course we played had some low scrub and a hilly section, the goal was to get the other teams flag from their base while they defended it. Everyone ran out gung ho for the first attack, and it didn't exactly go the best. Once everyone had been killed off or time ran out (I think the time ran out first in this game, but i was dead, so what do i care), both teams swapped sides and it was our turn to defend the flag. I ran straight up the hilly section with Leal & Leon and got in a good position where I could shoot the other team from above, After a few shots at the other team I was of course spotted and shot. Oh Well.

After the first two games we had a quick break and then were back out there, this time on a different course. This next course had a lot more scrub and no hill, the goal was to get the other teams flag and return with it to your base. In this one i made a break for it down the right hand side of the course with a few other guys, it was going pretty good and we made it a fair way, This time I managed to get shot while running for cover behind a tree, the paintball splattered on the grill of my helmet and mostly ended up in mouth and on my face, those things really don't taste very good. I got to watch the rest of the game from the sidelines with the other "dead" players. Katie and John were slowly making their way down the right hand side, moving from barrier to barrier until they got stuck by an opposing player shooting at where they were hiding, so John of course tells Katie to run out and attack, she got shot very very quickly..... The second game on this course was much the same thing, only we switched ends. Leal, Leon & I headed for the left hand side of the course intending to make our way down there, until Leon managed to trip over in the bush while charging to gain ground and ended up a writhing mess in the scrub.... It kind of ruined the whole effect of this supposedly being a serious game. We got to the barriers on the left hand side and all the others managed to get themselves shot. I was hiding under a bush when 3 of the other teams members spotted me and of course i got shot repeatedly. Our team continued to loose more players and the other team eventually captured our flag and made it back to their base, winning the game.

After a quick break we were back out there again, on another course of course. This course consisted of only barriers, no scrub or other bush to hide in this time. The goal was to capture the flag in the centre of the course and get it to the opposing teams base without getting shot. YEAH RIGHT! When the ref blew the wistle i ran straight down the middle of the field and grabbed the flag, I then got stuck behind the barrier in the middle cause there was no-one else on my team to back me up. Eventually I was shot. Later (after many more "deaths") one of the guys in the opposing team managed to grab the flag and make a sprint for our base, he was shot very very quickly. But it was pretty funny to watch. After this game Liam had to sit out, cause he had hurt his knee (poor Liam - WHIMP!)

The 2nd game on this course was the same thing again but from opposite ends. When the whistle blew, a group of us rand down the left hand side of the field, moving from barrier to barrier, by this stage a lot of people had started to run out of paintballs, so there was a lot of shooting, without any paintballs involved - which makes it hard to tell when it's safe to run... I got shot hiding behind a water tank in this one. I'd managed to make it a fair way down the field - but I of course got shot. A person on the opposite team managed to make it to the centre barrier and grab the flag, while at the same time Daniel made it to the opposite side of the same barrier, neither Daniel nor the other player knew the other one was there and the "dead" players were teying to shout out... but were told that "dead" people can't talk as Daniel and the other guy are both sticking their heads up and not seeing each other.... It was very very amusing, I'm pretty sure Daniel then got shot.

The third game on this course was just a free for all, for players to use up there remaining paintballs - our team decided to do a charge straight down the middle of the field and see how it'd go.... i decided not to go with them and watched from the left hand side of the field as they charged about 20mtrs, then all ducked for cover as the opposing team got closer. Everyone was pretty much just shooting crazy now - I managed to get one guy 3 times straight on the face plate from about 7mtrs away - it was a great shot, his goggles were completely covered in pink paint. After that I was shot in the head and ran out of paintballs. Daniel finished up at about the same time as me and we both walked back to the main area to hand in our gear.

Once the game was over, lunch was served and all the great war stories of heroic efforts and missed opportunities were told, plus of course the comparisons of the bruises and other injuries:
Daniel: Bloody hand, and lots of little bruises
Liam: Sore knees, where he was shot
Katie: Bruised arm
Me: Skinned knee and lots of little bruises
John: He only got shot 5 times the entire time, so he didn't really have any injuries. He didn't miss getting shot cause he was such a good player, more cause he just hung back a lot.

More war stories were told later that night over poker - where I managed to loose all my chips 3 times over and John ended up winning everyones chips.



Posted by Picasa


Posted by Picasa


Posted by Picasa


Posted by Picasa

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Haha Jon the leb is picking his nose.